Driving is a privilege and not a right.
Driving is a privilege and not a right. Therefore, the DMV has several ways to cancel this privilege. If your privilege is cancelled, you may be allowed to have limited or restricted driving privileges. Here is how to lose your license:
If you have accumulated too many points (12 in 12 months or 18 in 24 months) against your Colorado driving privilege, the DMV has the authority to allow non-recreational type driving privileges after considering your driving history and your personal circumstances. The Hearing Officer will consider the impact on your livelihood, your efforts to correct negative behavior, time already without driving privilege and any other positive information. Your attitude of remorse and responsibility is critical.
A Hearing Officer may establish requirements for a Probationary driver's license:
- Letter confirming employment.
- Evidence of Alcohol Education/Therapy.
- Ignition interlock device (on board intoxilyzer).
- Reports from Probation Officer.
- SR-22 insurance coverage.
Your probationary driving privilege may be cancelled if the DMV receives information of a moving violation or violation of any restrictions or failure to maintain the ignition device.
You may not realize how important this privilege is, until you lose it.
Worried about your Colorado Driving License? Call me immediately (970-871-7400).
"There is a continuing struggle between law enforcement and the consumption of alcohol. Drinking and driving is not illegal. It is only when your driving ability is reduced by alcohol that the accusation is valid. Every case is different; based on different facts. "
-- Larry D. Combs